India’s wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant has been ruled out of the 2nd ODI due to a concussion. It is currently unclear if he will be part of the 3rd ODI or not. KL Rahul will likely be keeping the wickets in place of Pant.
Rishabh Pant was hit on the helmet by a bouncer bowled by Pat Cummins in the 44th over of the match. The ball first hit the bat and then the helmet, after which, it was caught by Ashton Turner. Pant had scored 28 runs from 33 balls with 2 fours and a six to help his team set up a total of 250plus. However, India suffered a 10-wicket loss at the hands of Australia in the 1st ODI as the Australian openers: David Warner and Aaron Finch finished the chase on their own.
BCCI statement read: “He [Pant] is ruled out of the 2nd ODI. His availability for the final ODI will be based on how he responds during the rehabilitation protocol.
“After getting hit on his helmet while batting in the 1st ODI, Rishabh got a concussion and took no further part in the game. He was then taken to the hospital for overnight monitoring under a specialist. He is stable and all his scan reports are clear. He has been discharged from the hospital and will head to NCA, Bengaluru to undergo his rehabilitation protocol. He is ruled out of the 2nd ODI. His availability for the final ODI will be based on how he responds during the rehabilitation protocol.”
The 3rd ODI will also be played in Bengaluru on January 19, so Rishabh might be available for the game, depending on his medical condition.
The 22-years-old has played 16 ODIs since his debut against West Indies in October 2018 and has an average of 26.71.