Australia dominates India with a 10-wicket victory in 1st ODI

Australia dominates India with a 10-wicket victory in 1st ODI 2

Australia continues its dominant run as they defeat India in the 1st ODI by 10-wickets. Australia chased the target of 256 runs without losing a wicket in just 37.4 overs.

Australia won the toss and opted to field first. Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan opened the innings for India. They lost Rohit Sharma early into the game. However, after his fall, Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul shared a 121 runs partnership.

Shikhar Dhawan scored 74 runs from 91 balls, while KL Rahul contributed 47 runs from 61 deliveries before getting dismissed by Ashton Agar. Indian skipper Virat Kohli could only score 16 runs. Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant added 28 runs from 33 balls, while Ravindra Jadeja scored 25 runs from 32 deliveries.

India fell for 255 runs in 49.1 overs. India was looking very composed after Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul’s 121-run stand but no other batsmen could stand against the Australian bowling.

Mitchell Starc secured 3 wickets for 56 runs. Pat Cummins and Kane Richardson both took 2 wickets, while Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar claimed 1 wicket each.

ALSO READ: Tim Paine is looking forward to India Test series

Australia required 256 runs to win the match. Australian openers, David Warner and skipper Aaron Finch chase the entire target on their own. David Warner scored his 18th ODI hundred, while Aaron Finch starred with his 16th ODI hundred.

David Warner added 128 runs from 112 balls with 17 fours and 3 sixes. On the other end, Aaron Finch contributed 110 runs from 114 deliveries with 13 fours and 2 sixes as the pair shared a 258 runs partnership to clinch victory without losing a single wicket.

David Warner was also named “Player of the Match” for his brilliant batting performance.

Australia is now leading the 3-match ODI series by 1-0. They will now face India on January 17 for the 2nd ODI.


Leave a comment