New Zealand announces T20I squad against Pakistan

New Zealand announces T20I squad against Pakistan
New Zealand announces T20I squad against Pakistan

The New Zealand Cricket Board (NZC) has announced T20I squads against Pakistan as the series is to get started by 18th December. Notably, the Kiwis are to go with two different squads. The squad differs for the first ODI and another squad with a few changes that have been finalized for the second and third T20I.

Gavin Larsen, the selector of the New Zealand Cricket team, believes that these squads are the most challenging ones as compared to others.

New Zealand announces T20I squad against Pakistan

“A combination of form, injuries, and the overlapping of series has certainly added some complexity to this announcement,” he conceded.

“I’d like to acknowledge the commitment of all the players who are having to show a large degree of flexibility and understanding this summer.

“It’s great to have the class of Kane and Trent returning to our T20 side having missed the West Indies series after their starring roles in the IPL in November.

“Kane will return and lead the side for games two and three, but we’ll obviously need to take a wait and see approach in relation to the arrival of his and Sarah’s first child. Mark Chapman’s in the squad for the opening match at Eden Park and is on stand-by for Kane for the remaining games of the series.

“We were thrilled Glenn and Devon were able to take their opportunities so well in the previous series and we’re keen to give them the chance to back that up against a strong Pakistan T20 outfit.

“Their inclusion and the return of Kane means we’ve left out Ross Taylor. This was, as you’d imagine, a very tough decision as Ross has been a consistent performer for us, but unfortunately, we just couldn’t find room in the squad for him due to the quality and form of the other batsmen.

“It’s a special time for Jacob who’s taken his game to another level this summer and I know he’s excited to join the BLACKCAPS camp for the first time.

“The injury to Lockie is obviously a concern considering what he brings to our bowling attack and we’re awaiting more information around his rehabilitation.

“We’ve got just these three T20 Internationals remaining this year, before what will be a star-studded Dream11 Super Smash – where we hope to see all players present their cases for inclusion in the remaining T20I series against Australia and Bangladesh in February and March.”


Mitchell Santner (c), Todd Astle, Doug Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner


Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Also, see:

Time too short to add two new IPL teams: BCCI official

Leave a comment