Netherlands win the T20 World Cup Qualifier Final

Papua New Guinea vs Netherlands, Final:

Papua New Guinea: 128/8

 Netherlands: 134/3 (19/20 overs, target 129)

Netherlands won by 7 wickets with 6 balls remaining.

Netherlands are the winners of the T20 World Cup Qualifier Final. Papua New Guinea scored 128 runs at the cost of 8 wickets while batting first. Netherlands chased the total at the cost of 3 wickets in just 19 overs, with Ryan ten Doeschate and Ben Cooper playing a key role for their team.

Papua New Guinea had an outstanding run throughout the T20 World Cup Qualifiers. They remained dominant throughout the group stage, losing their only match against Scotland. Netherlands also had a tremendous tournament, where they lost their only match against Papua New Guinea during the group stages, which was also avenged by their victory against them in the T20 World Cup Qualifier Final.

Netherlands win the T20 World Cup Qualifier Final 2

Papua New Guinea restricted to 128 runs in the T20 World Cup Qualifier Final:

Papua New Guinea won the toss and elected to bat first in the T20 World Cup Qualifier Final. They sent Captain Assad Vala and Tony Ura to open their innings. Roelof van der Merwe lbw Tony Ura in the first over of the match for 4 runs. Captain Assad Wala got run out after scoring 8 runs from 12 balls in the fifth over of the match. Charles Amini got caught on a duck by Ben Cooper towards mid-off on Timm van der Gugten’s delivery.

Papua New Guinea were 3 down on 30 runs but Lega Siaka and Sese Bau refused to let it all go down without a fight. Lega Siaka added 39 runs from 41 deliveries before being bowled by Roelof van der Merwe. Sese Bau contributed 29 runs from 29 balls before getting caught behind on Brandon Glover’s ball. Brandon Glover also dismissed wicketkeeper-batsman Kiplin Doriga for 3 runs and bowled the star all-rounder Norman Vanua for just 5 runs in his spell.

Jason Kill furiously smacked 11 balls for 27 runs as he remained undefeated after hitting 2 fours and sixes. Jason Kills last-minute 27 brought Papua New Guinea’s total to 128/8 after 20 overs.

Netherlands’ bowlers bowled exceptionally well. Brandon Glover claimed 3 wickets for 24 runs from his 4 overs. Timm van der Gugten got 2 for 18 while Roelof van der Merwe took 2 for 15 runs.

Ryan ten Doeschate and Ben Cooper secure the title for Netherlands:

Netherlands required 129 runs from 20 overs to win the T20 World Cup Qualifier Final. Ben Cooper provided the Netherlands with a dream start as he scored 41 runs from 33 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixes, before getting caught by Lega Siaka on Damien Ravu’s delivery. Opener Tobias Visee added 10 runs while Max O’Dowd contributed 14 runs from 19 balls.

Colin Ackermann and Ryan ten Doeschate shared an unbeaten partnership of 52 runs to secure the title for their team. Colin Ackermann scored 29 from 33 deliveries without scoring any boundary, while Ryan ten Doeschate added 34 runs from 23 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes.

Ryan ten Doeschate finished the tournament with style as he struck the final shot for a six. Netherlands finished their innings on 134/3 after 19 overs. Papua New Guinea’s captain Assad Vala stood out with his bowling, taking 1 wicket for 15 runs from his 4 overs and also bowling a maiden one.

Brandon Glover was named the “Player of the Match” for his classy spell dismissed all the big names from the opposing team. Namibia’s Captain Gerhard Erasmus was awarded the “Player of the Tournament” for his exceptional and consistent all-round performances throughout the T20 World Cup Qualifier.

Leave a comment