Paarl Rocks Wins MSL 2019 Title

Paarl Rocks defeated Tshwane Spartans in the Final of MSL 2019:

Paarl Rocks beat Tshwane Spartans in the Finals with absolute dominance and became the champions of the Mzansi Super League. Rocks defeated Tshwane Spartans by 8 wickets with 34 balls to spare as they chased the target of 148 runs in just 14.2 overs at the cost of 2 wickets.

Tshwane Spartans scored 147 runs for 6 wickets while batting first. AB de Villiers scored 51 runs from 37 balls. Dean Elgar made 22 from 22 balls, while wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen contributed 21 from 19 balls.

Pite van Biljon got run out after scoring 19 runs from 20 deliveries. David Wiese added 14 runs from 11 balls before getting lbw by Kerwin Mungroo. Isuru Udana and Tabraiz Shamsi claimed 2 wickets each for their team, while Kerwin Mungroo secured 1 wicket against Tshwane Spartans.

Rocks had lost to the Spartans in all their past 5 face-offs in both editions of the tournament.

Paarl Rocks Wins MSL 2019 Title

Henry David crowned man of the match as Paarl Rocks wins Mzansi Super League title:

Rocks’ Henry Davids played a terrific inning as he scored the fastest half-century of the Mzansi Super League (MSL). Henry Davids remained unbeaten with the score of 77 runs from 44 balls as he hit 8 fours and 4 huge sixes out of the ground. The Rocks had struck 72 runs in the first six overs of the match.

Cameron Delport contributed 18 runs from 18 balls before losing his wicket to David Wiese. Dwaine Pretorius smacked 43 from 21 balls with a four and 4 sixes as the Rocks chased the target of 148 runs in just 14.2 overs.
Henry Davids was named the “Player of the Match” for his blistering inning that made the chase successful for Paarl Rocks with 34 balls to spare.

Leave a comment