ICC awards: Ben Stokes awarded Player of the Year

ICC awards: Ben Stokes awarded Player of the Year 2

England’s cricketer, Ben Stokes, has been named ICC’s “Player of the Year” for his all-round performances in England’s victory in World Cup 2019 and during the Ashes series.

Ben Stokes played a vital role in the World Cup 2019 Final against New Zealand, where he scored an unbeaten 84 runs from 98 balls to tie the scores. England then won the World Cup 2019 Final through the one-over eliminator. Ben Stokes also scored an unbeaten 135 runs from 219 balls in England’s one-wicket victory over Australia in the fourth innings of the 3rd Ashes Test.

Australia’s bowler Pat Cummins was awarded ICC’s “Test Player of the Year”, while India’s Rohit Sharma was named ICC’s “ODI Player of the Year”.

Pat Cummins had secured 59 wickets in 23 innings, the most by any Test bowler in 2019. Rohit Sharma scored 7 ODI hundreds and led the chart as the highest run-scorer in ODIs with 1490 runs in 27 innings at an average of 57.30.

ALSO READ: New Zealand wins Spirit of Cricket award For Cricket World Cup 2019

Pat Cummins’ teammate Marnus Labuschagne was awarded ICC’s “Emerging Player of the Year” for his world-class run in Tests. He scored 1104 runs in 17 innings with an average of 64.94. He was included in the squad as a concussion substitute for Steven Smith during the 2nd Test of the Ashes series but he scored 59 runs from 100 balls and since then, he has been an integral part of Australia’s Test squad.

Deepak Chahar’s 6 wickets for 7 runs against Bangladesh secured him the “T20I Performance of the Year”.

India’s skipper Virat Kohli received the “Spirit of Cricket” award for asking fans to cheer on Steven Smith when he returned from his 1-year ban of ball-tampering scandal.

England’s Richard Illingworth was named “Umpire of the Year”, while Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer was awarded “Associate Player of the Year”.

Leave a comment