Eoin Morgan finds Pakistan T20I side as ‘dangerous’

Eoin Morgan finds Pakistan T20I side as 'dangerous'
Eoin Morgan finds Pakistan T20I side as ‘dangerous’

England’s shorter format skipper, Eoin Morgan, believes Pakistan’s T20I squad is dangerous and holds all the basics to get dominant over England.

Using the PSL as an example, he says the ability could be extracted from the t20 league as the tactics they use in all departments is surprising.

Morgan further says that Pakistan Cricket is producing quality cricketers being dug out from domestic.

Eoin Morgan finds Pakistan T20I side as ‘dangerous’

“Pakistan is a very dangerous T20 team. If anyone watched the PSL (Pakistan Super League) this year, the strength and depth of Pakistan cricket is surprising in one way. I haven’t played there in a couple of years and you forget the depth they have across their domestic cricket. It is no surprise they are producing excellent cricketers at the top level. They have all bases covered,” he said.

Praising Babar Azam who is one of the best run scorers and the number one T20I batsman, Morgan terms him as fantastic who has approached quality in his initial career.

 “He is a fantastic player. I played with him at Karachi Kings. He is a guy very early in his cricketing career but has achieved quite a lot doing the simple things extremely well,” he said.

Here are the seventeen shortlisted players for a three-match T20I series against England:

Squad: Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Wahab Riaz. (took from ICC)

On Tuesday, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) disclosed their T20 squad for the three-match T20I series against Pakistan that holds no player from the test squad playing the three-match test series against Pakistan currently.

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Tom Curran (Surrey), Joe Denly (Kent), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire).

The sides will be seen in action for T20I series behind closed doors on the mentioned dates below:

28 Aug – 1st T20I, Old Trafford

30 Aug – 2nd T20I, Old Trafford

1 Sep – 3rd T20I, Old Trafford

Also, see:

Pakistan vs England: Will the former number one T20I side shock the hosts?

Leave a comment