Australia vs Sri Lanka, 2nd T20I

Australia beats Sri Lanka by 9 wickets in 2nd T20I:

Sri Lanka: 117 all out (19/20 overs)

Australia: 118/1 (13/20 overs)

Australia won the match by 9 wickets with 42 balls remaining.

Australia defeated Sri Lanka in a very dominating fashion to seal the three-match T20I series in their favor by 2-0. Australian bowlers brought down entire Sri Lanka on a total of 117 runs in 19 overs. Australia then achieved the target of 118 runs in just 13 overs at the cost of 1 wicket.

Earlier, Australia defeated Sri Lanka by 134 runs in the first T20I of the three-match series. In the first T20I, David Warner’s unbeaten 100 brought Australia to a total of 233 runs at the cost of 2 wickets. Sri Lanka finished their innings on 99/9 after 20 overs.

Australia vs Sri Lanka, 2nd T20I 2

Australia bowlers bring down Sri Lanka on a total of 117:

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first against Australia in the 2nd T20I of the series. They sent Danushka Gunathilaka and Kusal Mendis to open the innings. Kusal Mendis got run out in the second over of the innings after scoring just 1 run. Opener Danushka Gunathilaka got bowled by Billy Stanlake after scoring 21 runs off 22 balls with 2 fours and a six.

Sri Lanka had a slow start and wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Parera tried to help with that, but he was not able to make much difference before he got bowled by Ashton Agar after scoring 27 off 19 balls. Avishka Fernando contributed 17 runs off 16 deliveries before being dismissed by Ashton Agar.

Sri Lanka was 75/5 in the 11th over and it kept getting worse for them against the opposing team’s bowlers. Niroshan Dickwella contributed 5 runs, while Dasun Shanaka could only score 1 run. Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, and Lakshan Sandakan lost their wickets after scoring 10 runs for their team. Captain Lasith Malinga added 9 runs off 5 balls, as Sri Lanka finished their innings after losing all their wickets on 117 runs from 19 overs.

Australia bowlers all bowled outstandingly as four of them claimed 2 wickets each for themselves. Adam Zampa conceded 20 runs, Ashton Agar gave away 27 runs, Pat Cummins cost his team 29 runs, and Billy Stanlake claimed 2 wickets for 23 runs. Kane Richardson remained wicket-less but conceded only 17 runs in his 3 overs.

Warner, Smith power Australia through series victory:

The hosts required 118 runs from 20 overs to win the match and seal the series by 2-0.  Sri Lanka quickly got rid of Australia Captain Aaron Finch on a duck in the first over of the innings. After losing their captain, Australia’s David Warner and Steven Smith, got themselves started with the bat and did not stop at any obstacle. David Warner and Steven Smith both shared a partnership of 117 runs, which is equal to the entire total of Sri Lanka, in just 13 overs.

David Warner smacked his 14th half-century as he remained undefeated after scoring 60 runs off 41 balls. He struck 9 fours in his out-of-the-world innings. Steven Smith once again proved why he is one of the very bests. Steven Smith scored his third T20I half-century as he played a blistering innings of 53 runs from 36 deliveries. Smith smacked 6 fours to reach his half-century.

David Warner was named the “Player of the Match” for his classy batting after he scored an unbeaten 60 off 41 deliveries. The hosts achieved the target in just 13 overs, winning the match by 9 wickets and 42 balls remaining. Australia and Sri Lanka will play their third T20I on November 1.

Leave a comment