India vs South Africa, 3rd Test

India won the 3rd Test by an innings and 202 runs

India: 497/9 declared

South Africa: 162 all out and 133 all out (follow-on)

India won the match by an innings and 202 runs.

India vs South Africa, 3rd Test

India won the 3rd Test and whitewash South Africa in the three-match Test series. India scored 497 runs for 9 wickets and declared their innings. South Africa’s team got all out on 162 in the first innings. India enforced the follow-on and South Africa’s team could only score 133 runs before getting all out, losing the game by an innings and 202 runs.

India’s first innings, Rohit scores a double-hundred:

India decided to bat first after South Africa lost their tenth consecutive toss in India while also making many changes to their team. Rohit Sharma scored his highest individual score in the form of a maiden Test double-century. Rohit was the third person to score a double-ton in this series, alongside Mayank Agarwal and India’s captain Virat Kohli. Rohit finished his innings on 212 runs for 255 balls with 28 fours and 6 sixes.

Ajinkya Rahane scored his 11th Test hundred. He scored a total of 115 runs off 115 balls for 17 fours and a six. Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma also shared the highest fourth-wicket partnership for India against South Africa. The pair took a stand of 267 runs to take their team from 39/3 to 306/4 after Ajinkya Rahane got dismissed by George Linde. Ravindra Jadeja scored a half-century, while Umesh Yadav added 31 runs off 10 balls to provide India with a little boost towards the end. India declared their innings on 497/9 after 116.3 overs.

South Africa’s debutant George Linde claimed 4 wickets for 133 runs in his 31 overs. Kagiso Rabada took 3 wickets for 85 runs, while Anrich Nortje and Dane Piedt got 1 wicket each against India.

South Africa’s first innings:

South Africa had lost their first 3 wickets for 16 runs with a trail of 481 runs ahead. Zubayr Hamza and Temba Bavuma took a stand of 91 runs to bring some life to their team’s innings. Zubayr Hamza played an innings of 62 runs for 79 balls for 10 fours and a six. Temba Bavuma scored 32 runs for 72 balls. South Africa’s captain Faf du Plessis got bowled by Umesh Yadav on just 1 run while their debutant wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen got bowled by Ravindra Jadeja for 6 runs. South Africa’s team went from 107/4 to 130/8.

George Linde, the fresh face that took 4 wickets for 133 runs in India’s first innings, scored 37 runs off 81 balls. At the end of their innings, South Africa had scored 162 runs with India still ahead by 335 runs. Umesh Yadav claimed 3 wickets for 40 runs while Mohammad Shami, debutant Shahbaz Nadeem, and Ravindra Jadeja got 2 wickets each for their team. India then decided to enforce the follow-on.

South Africa’s second innings:

South Africa sent Quinton de Kock and Dean Elgar to bat first. The results were not much different from what has happened so far in this entire series. Dean Elgar got retired hurt for 16 runs off 29 balls and the things continued to go downhill for South Africa. They had lost five wickets for 36 runs and at this point, the results were already clear to everyone.

Captain Faf du Plessis got lbw by Mohammad Shami for 4 runs, George Linde got run out for 27 runs off 55 balls, and Dane Piedt added 23 runs off 73 balls. Theunis de Bruyn contributed 30 runs off 49 balls and the rest of the batsmen failed to make it past single digits. South Africa lost all their wickets for 133 runs, their lowest total in this series.

Mohammad Shami claimed 3 wickets for 10 runs in his 10 overs. Umesh Yadav and Shahbaz Nadeem took 2 wickets each while Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin got 1 wicket each against South Africa.

Rohit Sharma was awarded the “Player of the Match” for his double-ton in the first innings. Rohit was also awarded the “Player of the Series” for his outstanding batting performance throughout the series against South Africa.

Leave a comment