Another Super Over, another loss for New Zealand

Another Super Over, another loss for New Zealand
Another Super Over, another loss for New Zealand

India defeated New Zealand through the Super Over once again in the 4th T20I of the series. India is now 4-0 into the 5-match T20I series and is looking forward to whitewash their opponents on their home grounds. New Zealand also lost the super over in their previous match of the series on January 29 owing to Rohit Sharma’s back-to-back sixes.

During the Super Over, Colin Munro and Tim Seifert came to bat for New Zealand against Jasprit Bumrah. New Zealand scored 13 runs for 1 wicket in the Super Over. India sent KL Rahul and Virat Kohli to bat against Tim Southee. KL Rahul smacked 2 boundaries for 10 runs in the first 2 balls of the over. Tim Southee managed to dismiss him on the 3rd delivery but Virat Kohli finished the job on the next 2 deliveries to end the game with 1 ball to spare.

New Zealand vs India, 4th T20I:

New Zealand won the toss and opted to field first. Wicketkeeper-batsman KL Rahul and Sanju Samson opened the innings for India in Rohit Sharma’s absence.

India struggled a bit at the start as they lost Sanju Samson and their skipper Virat Kohli early into the game. Sanju Samson added 8 runs from 5 balls, while Virat Kohli contributed 11 runs from 9 balls. Shreyas Iyer came at no. 4 but could only score 1 run after facing 7 balls.

Opener KL Rahul scored 39 runs from 26 balls. Manish Pandey and Shardul Thakur’s effort brought India to a total of 165/8 after 20 overs. Shardul Thakur added 20 from 15 balls, while Manish Pandey remained unbeaten after scoring a fifty from 36 balls. Ish Sodhi took 3 wickets for New Zealand. Hamish Bennett secured 2, while Tim Southee, Scott Kuggeleijn, and Mitchell Santner got 1 wicket each.

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma’s back-to-back sixes secure 3-0 series lead for India

New Zealand required 166 runs to win from the 20 overs. Opener Martin Guptill fell early after scoring just 4 runs from 8 balls. Colin Munro and wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Seifert shared a 74 runs partnership. Colin Munro scored 64 runs from 47 balls with 6 fours and 3 sixes before he was run out most thrillingly by Virat Kohli’s direct hit.

Tim Seifert scored 57 runs from 39 balls. Ross Taylor added 24 runs from 18 balls as New Zealand lost 4 wickets when they needed just 7 runs to win against Shardul Thakur in the last over of the match. New Zealand finished their innings on 165/7 after 20 overs.

Shardul Thakur took 2 wickets for 33 runs. Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal took 1 wicket each. Shardul Thakur was named the “Player of the Match”.

Leave a comment