India vs South Africa 2nd Test

India vs South Africa, Day 3 of 2nd Test:

India: 601/5 declared

South Africa: 275 all out (105.4 overs)

Day 3: India leads by 326 runs.

India declared their innings after scoring 601 runs at the cost of 5 wickets in the first innings. South Africa lost all its wickets on 275 runs. India now leads the test by 326 runs with the option to enforce a follow-on.

India vs South Africa 2nd Test

India in their first innings:

India won the toss and elected to bat first against South Africa. Mayank Agarwal scored 108 runs off 195 balls for 16 fours and 2 sixes. Rohit Sharma, who made hundreds in each innings in the previous Test, could only score 14 runs before losing his wicket to Kagiso Rabada. Cheteshwar Pujara made 58 runs off 112 balls.

India’s captain Virat Kohli scored his seventh double-hundred, as he amassed 254 runs off 336 balls with the help of 33 fours and 2 sixes while also remaining not out. Virat Kohli took a stand of 178 runs with Ajinkya Rahane, who scored 59 runs. Virat Kohli shared a partnership of 225 runs with Ravindra Jadeja, who missed his century by just 9 runs after scoring 91 runs off 104 balls and losing his wicket to Senuran Muthusamy.

Virat Kohli’s remarkable innings helped India reach a total of 601 runs at the loss of 5 wickets, after which they declared their innings. Kagiso Rabada claimed three wickets for South Africa, while Keshav Maharaj and Senuran Muthusamy took 1 wicket each for their team.

South Africa in their first innings:

South Africa struggled from the start with a trail of 601 runs behind them they lost their first 3 wickets at the end of day 2 on just 33 runs. Dean Elgar scored 6 and Aiden Markram went on a duck. Temba Bavuma also lost his wicket on 8 runs.

Anrich Nortje put just 3 runs on the board for South Africa.  Theunis de Bruyn scored 30 off 58 balls. South Africa was 53/5. South Africa’s captain Faf du Plessis played a sensible innings to provide some stability to the team with his partnership of 75 runs with Quinton de Kock. He lost his wicket to Ravichandran Ashwin after scoring 64 runs off 117 balls. South Africa’s wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock scored 31 runs off 48 balls.

Senuran Muthusamy got lbw by Ravindra Jadeja for 7 runs, while Vernon Philander and Keshav Maharaj made sure South Africa bats till the end of the day. Vernon Philander and Keshav Maharaj put together a stand of 109 runs for the ninth wicket. Keshav Maharaj lost his wicket to Ashwin after scoring 72 runs off 132 balls. Vernon Philander remained not out after scoring 44 off 192 balls.

At the end of the day, South Africa had lost all their wickets on 275 runs after 105.4 overs. Ravichandran Ashwin took 4 wickets for India. Umesh Yadav claimed 3 wickets while Mohammad Shami took 2 and Ravindra Jadeja dismissed 1 for India.


Leave a comment