India defeat South Africa in 2nd Test by an innings

India vs South Africa, 2nd Test:

India: 601/5 declared

South Africa: 275 and 189 (67.2 overs) (follow-on)

India won the match by an innings and 137 runs.

India amassed a total of 601 runs at the cost of 5 wickets before declaring their innings. South Africa got all out on 275 runs in their first innings with India leading by 326 runs. India decided to enforce follow-on but South Africa once again lost all their wickets on 189 runs in their second innings. India defeated South Africa by an innings and 137 runs in their 2nd Test.

India defeat South Africa in 2nd Test by an innings

India’s first innings against South Africa:

India won the toss and elected to bat first. Mayank Agarwal and Rohit Sharma came to bat first for India. Mayank Agarwal scored 108 runs off 195 balls with the help of 16 fours and 2 sixes. Rohit Sharma finished on 14 runs while Cheteshwar Pujara made 58 off 112 balls.

India’s captain Virat Kohli scored his seventh double-hundred and finished his innings on 254 runs off 336 balls, after hitting 33 fours and 2 sixes while remaining not out. Ajinkiya Rehane went for 59 for 168 balls. Ravindra Jadeja missed his hundred by 9 runs as he got dismissed on 91 runs off 104 balls. Virat Kohli declared the innings after Ravindra Jadeja’s dismissal.

South Africa’s first innings against India:

South Africa struggled from the beginning as they lost their wickets one after the other. Theunis de Bruyn scored 30 off 58 balls. South Africa’s captain Faf du Plessis scored 64 runs off 117 balls for his team. Wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock finished on 31 off 48 balls. Keshav Maharaj and Vernon Philander piled up a partnership of 109 runs for the ninth wicket. Keshav Maharaj contributed 72 runs off 132 balls, while Vernon Philander remained not out after scoring 44 off 192 balls.

Ravichandran Ashwin took 4 wickets, Umesh Yadav claimed 3, while Mohammad Shami earned 2 and Ravindra Jadeja took 1 wicket for India.

South Africa’s second innings against India:

India decided to enforce the follow-on and South Africa started once again with Aiden Markram and Dean Elgar. India was still 326 runs ahead of South Africa.  Aiden Markram went on a duck. Dean Elgar scored 48 runs off 72 balls for 8 fours. Theunis de Bruyn made 8 runs, while South Africa captain Faf du Plessis lost his wicket on 5 for 54 balls.

Temba Bavuma finished his innings on 38 runs off 63 balls. Senuran Muthusamy made 9 off 44 balls. Vernon Philander scored 37 off 72 balls, while Keshav Maharaj lost his wicket to Ravindra Jadeja after scoring 22 runs off 65 balls.

South Africa lost all of their wickets on 189 runs, losing the game by an innings and 137 runs. Ravindra Jadeja and Umesh Yadav took 3 wickets each for India. Ravichandran Ashwin took 2 wickets while Ishant Sharma and Mohammad Shami claimed 1 wicket each against South Africa.

India’s Captain Virat Kohli received the “Player of the Match” award for his brilliant performance with the bat, as he achieved 7000 runs and scored his seventh double-ton in a single innings.

Leave a comment