CPL 19 Final: Barbados Tridents are the Champions

Barbados Tridents vs Guyana Amazon Warriors, CPL 19 FINAL:

Barbados Tridents: 171/6

Guyana Amazon Warriors: 144/9 (20/20 overs, target 172)

Barbados Tridents won the match by 27 runs.

Barbados Tridents have won the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2019. The Tridents ended Guyana Amazon Warriors’ win streak of 11 matches by claiming the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) title for a second time. Guyana Amazon Warriors remained undefeated throughout the CPL 19, only to miss the title a fifth time.

CPL 19 Final: Barbados Tridents are the Champions 2

Barbados Tridents’ innings against Guyana Amazon Warriors:

The Barbados Tridents won the toss and elected to bat first against the Amazon Warriors who had previously defeated them by 30 runs, in order to qualify for the final. The Tridents sent Johnson Charles and Alex Hales to bat first. Tridents had a decent start with Johnson Charles scoring 39 runs off 22 balls, and Alex Hales scoring 28 off 24 balls.

Philip Salt went on a duck while Shai Hope scored 8 runs. Shakib al Hasan and Tridents’ captain Jason Holder both got run out after scoring 15 runs and 1 run respectively. Things were looking grim for the Tridents after Shakib al Hasan got run out, bringing the team’s total to 108/6 with 5 overs remaining.

Jonathan Carter played an explosive innings to provide the much-needed boost to the Tridents with his 50 runs off 27 balls. Jonathan Carter smacked 4 fours and 4 sixes and remained not out till the end of the innings, along with Ashley Nurse who made 19 runs off 15 balls. Jonathan Carter’s extraordinary performance with the bat pushed the Tridents’ total to 171/6 after 20 overs.

Imran Tahir, Ben Laughling, Romario Shepherd, and Keemo Paul took 1 wicket each for the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

Guyana Amazon Warriors’ innings against Barbados Tridents:

Guyana Amazon Warriors required 172 runs off 120 balls to win the CPL 19 title. Brandon King and Chandrapaul Hemraj came to bat first for the Amazon Warriors. Chandrapaul Hemraj got dismissed after scoring just 1 run. Shimron Hetmyer and Amazon Warriors captain Shoaib Malik scored 9 and 4 runs respectively.

The highest run-scorer of the tournament, Brandon King played an innings of 43 runs off 33 balls before he lost his wicket on the last ball of 11th over. Amazon Warriors’ wicketkeeper Nicholas Pooran made 24 runs off 25 balls while Sherfane Rutherford scored 15 off 12 balls. Keemo Paul played a quick innings of 25 off 14 balls it was all too late as the Amazon Warriors were already too behind.

The Amazon Warriors finished their innings on 144 runs at the cost of 9 wickets after 20 overs, losing the match by 27 runs. Barbados Tridents Raymon Reifer took 4 wickets for 24 runs in his 4 overs. Harry Gurney and Ashley Nurse took 2 wickets each for their team while Hayden Walsh claimed one.

Barbados Tridents’ Jonathan Carter was awarded the “Player of the Match” for his brilliant performance with the bat, as he scored 50 runs off 27 balls. Tridents’ Hayden Walsh was awarded the “Player of the Tournament” for being the highest wicket-taker of the CPL 19 with 22 wickets throughout the tournament.

Barbados Tridents first won the CPL title in 2014 when they defeated Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final by 8 runs in a rain-affected match. Guyana Amazon Warriors have reached the CPL final five out of seven times and failed to win it every single time. The Warriors looked strong this season with 11 consecutive wins under Shoaib Malik’s captaincy but in the end, they lost in the Final against the Tridents by 27 runs.

Leave a comment